Military Diet: Is it Worth it?

The infamous military diet is a strict 3 day diet where you follow a meal plan. Every one who does this diet eats the same meals. There are 3 meals a day and each has been carefully planned out, as well as the serving size. These meals are definitely not the most scrumptious or glamorous, but supposedly the outcome is supposed to be nice. What’s so popular about this particular diet is that it claims that you can lose up to 10 pounds in just 3 DAYS! Crazy right?

But, here’s the thing though, based on my own experience I do believe that this diet is somewhat truthful. Considering the type of meals you are eating while on this diet I don’t believe any meal is over 1200 calories. Typically anyone who goes on a 1200 calorie diet or less is prone to lose some type of weight. However, based on your weight, height, activity level, etc., everyone will not achieve the same results. Before, I get into my full experience of trying this diet, let me show you the meals for each day:

3bf96037bbdb7798aff6765534989b7e--what-to-eat-after-a-workout-to-lose-weight-lose-kg-in-a-week

As you can see the meals are not very appetizing. One good thing about this diet is that there is not a set time that you have to eat. Also, you can spread out the meals so you don’t have to eat everything at once. My first impression of this diet was that I was very ecstatic to try it. Of course hearing the possibility that I could lose 10 pounds in 3 days had me anxious to give it a try. However, when I started the diet that impression changed.

I ended up not caring for this diet very much because the meals were not good and I just felt deprived, as if I was starving myself. Before this diet I was someone who definitely ate more calories than I should have been consuming in a day, and I ate whatever I wanted when I wanted. So my body kind of went into a shock because I drastically changed the lifestyle that my body was accustomed to. The meals from Day One weren’t so bad, but after breakfast, especially close to bed time, I was super hungry. The only good thing about Day Two was the very filling dinner. But, even then I was still hungry at bed time.

Being hungry near bed time was the worst feeling ever. By the end of Day Two I had already felt like giving up. But, I reminded myself that I had one more day to make it through the torture, and then I could finally weigh myself. So Day Three came and it was the worst day out of the other two. I mean look at the meals. I felt like I was eating scraps that someone threw on the street. The next day I finally weighed myself and I lost about 5-6 pounds. I was very happy with the weight loss, but my body paid the price after the fact. I have to say it wasn’t worth practically starving myself just to see some weight loss.

I feel like if you put in the hard work and effort you can lose weight naturally. I think people want instant gratification when it comes to losing weight so they go on these quick fad diets hoping to lose a massive amount of weight in a short period of time. In my opinion, the military diet is a load of crap. It’s not healthy for your body and all it does is make you feel starved. Plus it’s not worth it if you only lose a pound or two. You could achieve the same results or better eating healthy while watching your portion sizes, doing light exercise, watching the times you eat, and drinking a lot of water. You do not have to starve yourself to lose weight! No one should be losing 10 pounds in just 3 days. A person should only be losing a pound or two a week.

Overall, I would not recommend the military diet. But, as I always say do your research and figure out what works best for you.

One thought on “Military Diet: Is it Worth it?

Leave a Reply

